January 29, 1877

Your Host For Routt County
Billie Walsh
Routt County is located in the north-western part of Colorado. One hundred years ago, pioneers flocked here in search of all types of mineral riches. Men seeking gold were the first settlers in Routt County. In 1862, Joseph Hahn and two companions found gold in the area of Hahns Peak. The first mining district was established in the Hahns Peak area in 1866.
When Colorado became a territory in 1861, the area of Routt County lay in Summit County. Later, it was included in Grand County. On January 29, 1877, Routt County was established. Originally Routt County included the entire area of the present Routt and Moffat Counties. Due to the enormous distances included in the original Routt County, the two counties divided along the existing county lines on February 27, 1911.
Today Routt County is renowned as the home of Steamboat Springs and is a center for outdoor recreation. Other Communities located in Routt County include Clark, Hahns Peak, Milner, Phippsburg, and Toponas, and the towns of Hayden, Oak Creek and Yampa.
About 50% of the land in Routt County is publicly owned. The Medicine Bow-Routt National Forest makes up a large portion of the county.


Routt County Table of Contents

Offsite Links

Colorado Special Projects

Routt County Mailing Lists and Message Boards

It is recommended that you also subscribe to the COMOFFAT list which serves as the main list for Moffat, Rio Blanco, and Routt Counties.

Adjacent Counties

Carbon County, Wyoming | Jackson County | Eagle County | Grand County
Garfield County | Rio Blanco County | Moffat County

Search this site powered by FreeFind

You are visitor

Page Created Tue Apr 27 22:53:40 CDT 2010
Last Updated, Thursday, 01-Oct-2015 09:14:47 MDT
This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated without consent.
All rights reserved. Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited.
The copyright (s) on this page must appear on all copied and/or printed material.

© 2018 by Routt County Coordinator
Should you feel like helping out in COGenWeb please contact the State Coordinator, Gail Meyer Kilgore or the Assistant State Coordinators, Colleen Pustola, and Billie Walsh